Faculty & Staff Contact Us Search
OTC Advisory Committees Hold Meeting

Area community and business leaders assembled in the Miller Lecture Hall of Okefenokee Technical College Tuesday evening, October 18, at 6 p.m. for greetings and comments by college officials before dispersing to classrooms to attend their respective advisory committee meeting.

At the general session, OTC President Gail Thaxton welcomed advisory board members and thanked them for their willingness to serve on a committee for the benefit of students. Danita Cannon, vice president for academic and student affairs, introduced the 2011 Rick Perkins winner, Eddie Murray. Murray, an OTC graduate, shared his experiences as an OTC student and instructor with the audience. His enthusiasm for and dedication to technical education attributed to his nomination.

Following the invocation, committee members and instructors enjoyed a hot meal and gathered for advisory committee meetings.

Program advisory committees are composed primarily of persons in the industry served by the program and include persons within the community and employment market who positively impact the program. Membership may also include representatives from high school programs and other college programs. Committees meet twice each year.

During OTC advisory committee meetings, program staff solicit input from advisory committee members to assist in the evaluation of program effectiveness, job development, job placement, program promotion and evaluation (in relation to standards), program advocacy, and business and industry support of the program.

Essentially, advisory committees promote interaction between program faculty and businesses and industries served by the program, and faculty use the expertise of advisory committee members to improve program content.

All OTC programs comply with Technical College System of Georgia (TCSG) approved curriculum. TCSG curriculum programs are standardized, based on business and industry requirements across the state. Standards are designed to prepare students for careers in specific professions.

Okefenokee Technical College is a unit of the Technical College System of Georgia

Photo 1

Photo 1:

As part of the activities prior to the advisory committee meeting, Dr. Manel Nayak (2nd from left), a local pulmonologist, was recognized for his dedication and service to the OTC respiratory care technology program. According to program director Faye Mathis (right), Dr. Nayak has served as medial director of the program since its inception in the early 90’s. OTC President Dr. Gail Thaxton (3rd from left) and Dr. Abe Pallas (left) were on hand to thank Dr. Nayak.

Photo 2

Photo 2:

Advisory committee members and instructors take the opportunity to tour training labs of their respective programs as part of the annual program evaluation. During a tour of the allied health building, Dr. Nayak enjoyed chatting with respiratory care instructors Faye Mathis and Mandy Lee about lab equipment and respiratory procedures.



More Success Stories