Faculty & Staff Contact Us Search
Doug Furman is Selected As OTC Instructor of the Year

His energetic teaching style, passion for fabrication, and interaction with students is a clear indication as to why Doug Furman received the 2010 Rick Perkins “Instructor of the Year” Award for Okefenokee Technical College.

Furman, an experienced welder and fabricator with 19 years of experience, is an Okefenokee Tech welding honor graduate. Upon graduation, Furman gained experience at three area welding shops before opening his own business in 1996, Furman Welding and Fabrication. Dr. Gail Thaxton and Doug Furman

Doug began full-time employment at OTC in 2000 and has since earned additional certifications, including Welding Educator (2007) and Welding Inspector (2007) from the American Welding Society. He has also had considerable field training to include blacksmithing, forge welding, and CNC controller and plasma table operation.

He is president and co-founder of the Steel Brittle Blacksmith Association, a member of the First Presbyterian Church of Waycross, and one of the first recipients of the OTC Eagle Award in which college staff are recognized for their accomplishments by their colleagues. 

“He is an ideal candidate to represent Georgia’s system of technical colleges as the 2010 state winner,” stated OTC President Dr. Gail Thaxton. “Under his leadership as director of the welding technology program, Mr. Furman has increased enrollment, expanded the curriculum, made the program visible in the community, and graduated students who are highly sought after in the Southeast Georgia region. Placement for the past two years stands at 100%.”

The Rick Perkins Award for Excellence in Technical Instruction honors the Technical College System of Georgia’s most outstanding instructors. Furman will represent OTC at the region competition in Fitzgerald in March.  The state winner, who serves as an ambassador for the Technical College System of Georgia, will be announced in May.

The award has been an ongoing statewide event since 1991 and is designed to recognize technical college instructors who make significant contributions to technical education through innovation and leadership in their fields. Formerly known as the Commissioner’s Award of Excellence, the award was renamed in honor and memory of Thomas “Rick” Perkins, an instructor at West Central Technical College, who received the Commissioner’s Award of Excellence prior to his untimely death.

“I choose to teach in a technical college because I desire to make a difference in the lives of individuals and families,” said Furman.  “Technical education provides my students with the skills, confidence, and motivation to be successful. In my role as an instructor, I am privileged to take part in the life-changing experience my students receive.”

Congratulations to Doug Furman, the OTC 2010 Rick Perkins Award winner.

PHOTO: Doug Furman (right), OTC 2010 Rick Perkins recipient, was presented
a certificate of recognition by OTC President Dr. Gail Thaxton.



More Success Stories