Faculty & Staff Contact Us Search

OTC Students Nominated For GOAL

Okefenokee Technical College instructors have nominated 15 students for the 2007 Georgia Occupational Award of Leadership (GOAL), according to Karen Boyle, coordinator for the college’s GOAL program.

The nominees attended an orientation luncheon sponsored by the OTC Student Government Association (SGA) on February 2. Then on February 7, all nominees delivered a speech before a panel of judges and were interviewed by the panel, which was chaired by Dr. Neil Aspinwall, Vice President of Economic Development.

Dr. Gail Thaxton and the SGA will honor the nominees on February 13 with a Presidential Reception, and the five finalists will be named at that time. Guests of the nominees and the nominating instructors are invited to this reception. The finalists will go on to compete for the title of 2007 OTC Goal Winner.2007 GOAL Nominees

Chosen for recognition as a GOAL nominee by their instructors are the following students:

Bacon County: Bradley Williamson

Brantley County: Mikel Johns, Selena Strickland, and Alana Peeples

Clinch County: Desiree Herrington Suggs

Coffee County: Ryan Parker

Pierce County: Rebecca Kline and Brandi King

Ware County: Sherry Beverly, Barbara Blount, Elizabeth Davis, Roy Guy, Tiffany Rowell, David Sandiford, and Daniel Shaw

The nominating instructors were Leighan Sweat, Accounting; Debra Downs, Medical Assisting; Derrell Harris, Computer Information Systems; Faye Mathis, Respiratory Care; Bob Cardwell, Electronics/Locomotive Electrical Systems; Sally Smith, Surgical Technology; Donna Yeomans, Radiologic Technology; Eddie Murray, Computer Information Technology; Larry Carr, Automotive Technology; Christine Whitley, Psychology; Jack Dixon, Auto Collision Repair; Patrick Simmons, Marketing Management; and Sharon Gillis, Drafting.

Photo: Left to right, back rowDavid Sandiford, Rebecca Kline, Selena Strickland, Sherry Beverly, Tiffany Rowell, Barbara Blount, & Ryan Parker
Left to right, front rowBradley Williamson, Desiree Herrington Suggs, Brandi King, Elizabeth Davis, Alana Peeples, & Mikel Johns
Not pictured:  Daniel Shaw & Roy Guy


More Success Stories