Faculty & Staff Contact Us Search
Dr. Keith Johnson Recognized by TCDA

Dr. Keith Johnson, the newest member of the OTC Board of Directors, was recognized as a certified board member by the Technical College Directors Association (TCDA) at the TCSG 2011 Leadership Conference in Savannah last month. 

Dr. Johnson, medical director and chief of anesthesia for Southeast Georgia Anesthesia, LLC, at Satilla Regional Medical Center, joins other board members in communicating community needs to the college president and administration. Directors interpret state board policies and provide supplemental policies to ensure that the needs of area business and industry are met to the highest possible degree and in the most cost effective and efficient manner. Consequently, OTC considers its local board members a vital asset in the quest to fulfill the mission of the college.

While members of the local board of directors of the state’s 25 technical colleges are automatically members of TCDA, extra steps are taken to become board certified by the TCDA. To receive certification, board members must attend New Board/Governance, Community Advocacy, Elected Officials and Budget workshops and visit at least one class session being taught by their respective technical college as required by the TCDA.

In addition to workshops, board members can also go on a tour of the technical college conducted by the president or a vice president, attend at least one graduation at the technical college, or represent the technical college in collaborative efforts with other groups or with the media among other selected activities.

“We are honored to have highly qualified members of our community on our board,” said Okefenokee Technical College President Dr. Gail Thaxton. “Their work in leading the community and the College is invaluable and unmatched.”

The OTC Board of Directors is composed of eight members representing the college’s designated six-county service area. At least one member from each county is represented on the Board. Dr. Johnson serves with Board Chair John Pharr, Ware; Jack Johnson, Bacon; Dr. Greg Jacobs, Brantley; Bonnie Davis, Charlton; Phillip Cook, Clinch; Daniel Johnson, Pierce; and Pete Pyrzenski, Ware. The Board meets monthly.

OTC Board Director Dr. Keith Johnson (center) was recently recognized by the Technical College Directors’ Association as a certified board member. He was congratulated by OTC President Dr. Gail Thaxton (right) and OTC Executive Assistant Margaret Fairley (left).Dr. Thaxton holds the award presented to her for the OTC Board of Directors , who recently achieved 100% Board Certification.


More Success Stories