Faculty & Staff Contact Us Search
OTC Board Members Receive Certification
Certified Board MembersAt the annual Technical College System Leadership Conference held in Savannah in November, three Okefenokee Technical College board members were presented certificates recognizing them as Certified Board Members by Cathy Fike, executive director of the Technical College Directors’ Association of Georgia (TCDA). John Pharr (L to R), Dr. Bonnie Davis, and Chris Huff were recognized and congratulated by Board Chair Gene Davis at the monthly OTC Board of Directors meeting.

John Pharr, representing Ware County, is the Human Resources Director for Satilla Health Services. Dr. Bonnie Davis, Charlton County’s board member, is the Education Director for D. Ray James Prison in Folkston. Chris Huff, president of Flanders Provision Company, also represents Ware County on the Board.

Board member certification included attendance at the following workshops: New Member Orientation, Governance of Technical Colleges, Community Advocacy, Building Relationships with Elected Officials Part I, and Budgeting and Financial Management. Certification also included attendance at one workshop in the areas of leadership, technical education trends and issues, board chair training, public speaking, or working with elected officials. Board members are further given a list of 15 activities that range from attending 80% of local board meetings to contacting a state legislator, and they must complete 10 of the 15 activities.

Cherie McCarthy, administrative assistant to the President, schedules the workshops and activities to assist board members with the certification process.


More Success Stories