Faculty & Staff Contact Us Search
OTC Radiologic Technology Students Pinned

Members of the 2010 radiologic technology class of Okefenokee Technical College were recognized and celebrated with a pinning ceremony held March 11, 2010, at the OTC Miller Lecture Hall. Donna Yeomans, the radiologic technology program director, assisted by Brent Clemmer, Paula Rouse, and Chrissie Rentz, pinned the twenty graduating students, signifying that they had met the requirements of their program of study. Radiology

Several students in the radiology program took part in the ceremony. Cole Griffin and Tiffany Wages presented the invocation followed by the welcome by Jacqueline Dobson and Leigh McQuaig. Michael Ward, Misty Bennett, Kristy Owens, and Jessie Branch gave presentations entitled “Class Memories.” Emily Parada presented an award of appreciation to Michael Ward, a fellow classmate, for his dedication in providing additional instructional time and expounding on classroom material during study group sessions. 
Kori Poindexter and Brandi Molina presented plaques to each clinical affiliate as an expression of appreciation for their dedication to students. Appreciation plaques were presented to Bacon County Hospital, Charlton Memorial Hospital, Clinch Memorial Hospital, Coffee Regional Medical Center, Orthopaedic Specialist of Southeast Georgia, Satilla Regional Medical Center, and Wayne Memorial Hospital.

Select students and technologists were recognized during the ceremony. Jessie Branch received the Coffee Regional Medical Center (CRMC) Outstanding Student Award presented by Jodie Vickers RT(R), CRMC Clinical Instructor. Brent Clemmer RT(R) presented Jacqueline Dobson with the Affiliate Outstanding Student Award on behalf of Bacon County Hospital, Charlton Memorial Hospital, Clinch Memorial Hospital, Orthopaedic Specialists of South Georgia, and Wayne Memorial Hospital.
Latonya Sellers Davis and Caroline Yeomans presented the SRMC Outstanding Technologist Award to Theresa Gay RT(R) for her patience and understanding.  The award was accepted by Mrs. Paula Rouse on behalf of Mrs. Gay as she was unable to attend the ceremony.  Casey Wheeler and Ashley Srodulski presented the CRMC Outstanding Technologist Award to Karen Spivey RT(R) for “encouraging students to have the initiative to get in there and do exams on their own.” Lisa Middleton and Emily Parada presented the Clinical Affiliate Outstanding Technologist Award to Kelly Cox RT(R) for being a “mentor and friend; allowing freedom and flexibility to perform exams while utilizing positive guidance and reinforcement of skills.”  Mrs. Chrissie Rentz accepted the award on behalf of Mrs. Cox.  Students thanked Mrs. Cox for her “hard work and dedication in helping them succeed and reach their educational goals.” 

Will Haralson received the Mallinckrodt Award presented by Donna Yeomans for “demonstrating strong didactic, psychomotor, affective, and leadership skills.” “Mr. Haralson comes to mind as a respectful, humble, and knowledgeable individual who demonstrates professionalism and dedication at a level that will most definitely advance his career.”  
One of the highlights of the ceremony was when Mrs. Yeomans; Mr. Clemmer, OTC radiologic clinical coordinator; and Mrs. Rouse, OTC radiologic technology clinical instructor, addressed the group. Mrs. Yeomans reminisced about students’ perseverance and willingness to learn from each other. “Many on stage will continue their educational journey to complete Associate Degrees offered by the college,” she stated. “Life is a never ending learning experience. Learn from each other, read, and step outside of your natural comfort zone.” Youmans also encouraged students to find something to hold onto in life.” Quoting Isaiah 41:10, she concluded by requesting that students “find the majestic and wondrous part of life that gives them peace and the fearlessness they desire.” 
Mr. Clemmer left students with sincere recollections and encouraged them “to continue their educational journey…at OTC.”  Mrs. Rouse defined the term compassion and challenged graduates to take every image as if the image were to aid in the diagnosis of their own family members.  
The following radiologic technology students were ceremoniously pinned and presented to the audience:  Misty Bennett, Jessie Branch, Latonya Sellers Davis, Jacqueline Dobson, Ashley Jo Floyd, Cole Griffin, Will Haralson, Leigh McQuaig, Lisa Middleton, Joe Mixon, Brandi Molina, Emily Parada, Kori Poindexter, Mayra Ortiz, Kristy Owens, Ashley Srodulski, Tiffany Wages, Michael Ward, Casey Wheeler, and Caroline Yeomans.

Will Haralson gave closing remarks along with Mayra Ortiz and Ashley Jo Floyd.  Each instructor was presented a token of appreciation from the class and a class portrait.   
An extended appreciation was given to the following persons for supporting the graduates of the program over the past two-years and helping to provide a memorable ceremony: Dr. H.A. (Bo) Griffin, Mr. Jack Harris at Teamgear Printing, Natalie’s Florist, Mr. Chad Boyett and staff, Mr. Mark Deal, and Dr. Jewell Sweat.

PHOTO: Members of the OTC radiologic technology graduating class of 2010 were recognized at a pinning ceremony held March 11 at the Miller Lecture Hall. The following students participated: Back Row from Left: Kori Poindexter (Wayne), Michael Ward (Ware), Cole Griffin (Bacon), Will Haralson (Ware), Joe Mixon (Ware), Tiffany Wages (Coffee), Latonya Sellers Davis (Ware), Emily Parada (Ware), Kristy Owens (Bacon), Casey Wheeler (Bacon), and Ashley Jo Floyd (Atkinson).

Front Row (L to R): Lisa Middleton (Ware), Ashley Srodulski (Coffee), Misty Bennett (Ware), Brandi Molina (Appling), Mayra Ortiz (Ware), Leigh McQuaig (Brantley), Jacqueline Dobson (Chatham), Jessie Branch (Appling), and Caroline Yeomans (Pierce).


More Success Stories