Faculty & Staff Contact Us Search
OTC Radiologic Technology Students Pinned

Members of the 2008 radiologic technology class of Okefenokee Technical College were recognized and celebrated with a pinning ceremony held March 19, 2008, at the OTC Miller Lecture Hall. Donna Yeomans, the radiologic technology program director, assisted by Trey Lee and Stacey Thrift, pinned the nineteen graduating students, signifying that they had met the requirements of their program of study.

“The gig is up,” remarked Yeomans during the ceremony, referring to the end of this chapter in the lives of her graduates. “Your professional career has just begun to unfold.” She encouraged her students to continue their education and to live their lives in “an endless pursuit of knowledge.” She expressed her pride in each one, naming them individually. The ceremony helped to demonstrate the significance of this accomplishment for the graduating students and their families.

Following the invocation and opening remarks, various students and radiological technologists were recognized. Candice Gerard R.T.(R) presented David Stone with the Satilla Regional Medical Center (SRMC) Outstanding Student Award. Leslie Harper and Kristen Smeltzer received the Coffee Regional Medical Center (SRMC) presented by Jodie Vickers R.T.(R) , CRMC Clinical Instructor.
Sarah Mooney and Lacee Keen presented the SRMC Outstanding Technologist Award to Jane Steedley, RT (R) for her guidance and support to students throughout their two-year tenure. Kristi Roberts and Kristen Smeltzer presented the CRMC Outstanding Technologist Award to Rhonda Holton, RT(R) for her instruction and dedication. Tiffany Wilson and Candace Strickland presented the Clinical Affiliate to Kelly Cox, RT(R) for her mentorship and use of positive reinforcement during the students’ training period.Radiology Students

Becky Wasdin received the Mallinckrodt Award presented by Donna Yeomans for having the highest GPA, clinical scores, and leadership abilities in her graduating class.
Yeomans; Trey Lee, former OTC radiologic clinical coordinator; and Stacey Thrift, former OTC radiologic technology instructor, took part in the pinning ceremony. Students were presented to the audience and then ceremoniously pinned.
The graduating radiologic technology students were Angela Adams, Amanda Burkett, Pam Courson, Ashley Crews, Victoria Crosby, Felicia Green, Ketreece Green, Leslie Harper, Lacee Keen, Sarah Mooney, Kristi Roberts, Kristen Smeltzer, Misty Smith, David Stone, Candace Strickland, Desiree Suggs, Brenda Thrift, Becky Wasdin, and Tiffany Wilson.
Several of the graduating radiologic students took part in the ceremony. Ashley Crews and David Stone gave the invocation followed by the welcome from Desiree Suggs and Leslie Harper. Felicia Green, Kristen Smeltzer, Ketreece Green, and Brenda Thrift gave a presentation entitled “Class Memories.” Angela Adams and Victoria Crosby gave the closing remarks for the students.
Special appreciation was given to the following clinical affiliates: Appling County Hospital, Bacon County Hospital, Charlton Memorial Hospital, Clinch Memorial Hospital, Coffee Regional Medical Center, Orthopedic Specialist of Southeast, Georgia, Satilla Regional Medical Center, and Wayne Memorial Hospital.
An extended appreciation was given to the following for their support in helping make the pinning ceremony a success: Dr. Bo Griffin, OTC President Gail Thaxton, Dr. Steve Pearce, Dr. Jewell Sweat, Cindy Tanner, Chad Boyett, Paul Dowling, Trey Lee, Stacy Thrift, Harry Guest, Anthony Horne, Dixie Franklin, and Shakira Brown.

Picture #1680: Back Row from Left: Felicia Green (Bacon); Kristen Smeltzer (Coffee); Amanda Burkett (Bacon); Victoria Crosby (Appling); Becky Wasdin (Brantley); Ashley Crews (Ware); Tiffany Wilson (Wayne); and Ketreece Green (Ware)
Second Row: Sarah Mooney (Ware); Candace Strickland (Wayne); Leslie Harper (Coffee); Lacee Keen (Ware); Brenda Thrift (Ware); Pam Courson (Pierce); and Desiree Suggs (Clinch)
Kneeling: Misty Smith (Brantley); David Stone (Ware); Kristi Roberts, and Angela Adams (Coffee).


More Success Stories